Norwegian Board of Technology (Teknologirådet)


The Norwegian Board of Technology (NBT) is an independent body for technology assessment established by the Norwegian Government in 1999, following an initiative by the Norwegian Parliament (Stortinget). The Board explores societal impacts and options of technology and science; stimulates public debate on technology; and advises the Norwegian Parliament and other governmental bodies on technological issues.


The Norwegian Board of Technology has 15 members appointed by the Government. The members have a broad insight in different areas of technology, innovation and societal issues. Chairman of the Board is Siri Hatlen. The Board has an annual budget of approximately NOK 11 million. The work is organised in projects, and the Board sets its own agenda. The secretariat manages the projects and reports to the Board. The Norwegian Research Council acts as the supervising authority.


The Board uses a variety of methods for assessing technology, ranging from participatory methods such as citizens’ panels, consensus conferences, scenario workshops and open hearings, to interdisciplinary working groups on the expert level.


The Board shall impart the results of its work to the Parliament, other authorities and society at large. This is done through newsletters, reports and other documents, as well as through media activities. The Board has established a series of newsletters to the Parliament and also contributes to parliamentary hearings and responds to requests from MPs.

Normal 0 21 false false false NO-BOK X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Normale Tabelle"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman","serif";}



Kongens gate 14
N-0153 Oslo
Tel: +47.23 31 83 00
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Chair: Sverre Gotaas

Director Tore Tennøe
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.