Comparative Table of Parliamentary TA Institutions



STOA Panel

The STOA Panel, which is an integral part of Parliament´s structure, is politically responsible for STOA´s work. It comprises 24 members with the right to vote: The members of the STOA Panel are appointed for a renewable two-and-a-half-year period. The Panel is reconstituted in the beginning and in the middle of each parliamentary term, following the appointment of its members by the eight committees. Monthly Panel meetings are held in Strasbourg and can be followed via webstreaming.

STOA Bureau

The STOA Bureau oversees the running of the STOA activities and prepares the Panel meetings. The STOA Panel in turn elects three members of the Bureau: the Chair and two Vice-Chairs. The Vice-President of the European Parliament responsible for STOA is ex officio also a member of the STOA Bureau.

STOA Secretariat

STOA´s operational responsibilities are with the STOA Secretariat, which is part the Scientific Foresight Unit (STOA) within Directorate C (Impact Assessment and European Added Value) of the EP's Directorate-General for Parliamentary Research Services (EPRS). In addition to the STOA Secretariat, the Scientific Foresight Unit (STOA) comprises the Scientific Foresight Service, created in 2014.

Chapter Organisation and responsibilities - all countries

Country Report European Parliament



EPTA ITA  © EPTA, version 20 Oct 2012, updated oct 2016 (wk); provided by ITA