Comparative Table of Parliamentary TA Institutions



The Government appoints the 15 members of the board for 4-year terms. The members come from academia and business and encompass broad insights in different areas of technology and innovation as well as ethics and societal issues. The Board initiates new projects, which in turn are executed by its own secretariat. Chair of the Board is currently Mrs Siri Hatlen (appointed for the 2012–2016 period). The secretariat employs nine people, including one senior executive officer, six project managers and one information manager. The secretariat is led by the Director, Tore Tennøe.

The NBT is funded by the Government, but to ensure independence, The Norwegian Research Council acts as the supervising authority.

The Board’s main tasks are:


Chapter Institutionalisation - all countries

Country Report Norway



EPTA ITA  © EPTA, version 20 Oct 2012; provided by ITA