Comparative Table of Parliamentary TA Institutions



GPTCA is instituted at the onset of every legislative period upon the Parliament´s decision following a proposal of the government or the presidents of the parliamentary groups. With the decision on the composition of the committee, the Parliament determines the topic that the committee will deal with and the deadline by which it will submit its findings. The special committees are composed by the one tenth (1/10) and up to the one fifth (1/5) of the total number of Members of Parliament (article 42). Currently it consists of 25 Members of Parliament representing all the parliamentary groups in the House.

Its task covers any matter within the sphere of research and technology development in order to give advice on relevant strategic issues. It is also entitled with the encouragement of international cooperation on technology assessment. Article 43 A of the Standing Orders of the Hellenic parliament provides also that the committee for the accomplishment of its task may cooperate with similar institutions functioning within the parliaments of other countries, encourage the international cooperation and research on TA matters and proceed to the exchange of information between the respective parliamentary institutions on TA.

The scientific support of its work is undertaken by the Directorate of Studies of the Hellenic Parliament. Several scientists and research fellows participate in the discussion meetings of the committee in order to present their points of view on TA matters.


Chapter Institutionalisation - all countries

Country Report Greece



EPTA ITA  © EPTA, version 20 Oct 2012; provided by ITA